Lessons from the “Hot Coffee” Experience

hot coffee dvd coverWorking on the PR for the showing of “Hot Coffee” at Samford was to say the least an experience. I would say that there were two big things i learned from my experiences. The first is preparedness and the second would be dealing with ethical issues.

I would say as a class this was a great exposure for all of us. No matter who you were you had to get out of your comfort zone slightly to help promote this event. I think as a class overall though we were not prepared for everything this event required of us. This is not a bad thing though, this taught the class especially me that you need to be prepared and do your research before doing anything. I think the next time that an opportunity like this comes along I will be better prepared in the future.

The film itself even gave me something to think about. “Hot Coffee” brought up the ethical issue of grassroots campaigns. It really made me think about what I would do if a large corporation came to my agency and asked me to cook up a fake campaign. At the end of the day you have to think about how this will affect you morally and can you still sleep at night pulling the wool over people’s eyes?

I think having this assignment was invaluable and gave the class as a whole a small taste of what to expect in the PR field.

Leave a Reply

