Looking back, looking ahead

     While being one of the most useful things I’ve learned thus far in Principles of PR, Twitter has also been the most challenging part. As someone who checks Facebook maybe once a day (emphasis on MAYBE), it has been a challenge for me to keep up with this other form of social media as well. I could blame it on having a busy schedule but my lack of tweets/retweets also comes from a lack of interest. To me, it’s nice not always being “in the know.” Quite frankly, I don’t care about the latest gossip & trends. However, after following various PR reps and businesses this semester I’ve come to the realization that that is not what Twitter is all about. Twitter, in fact, is a great way for these businesses to market and advertize themselves. There are so many things (restaurant deals, running tips, gift certificates, etc) that I wouldn’t have known about if I wasn’t on Twitter.

      As the semester is comes to close, I feel that being extra mindful of checking twitter as well as pressing through the kinks of Twitter (may it be tweeting or more consistently following people) will certainly help me to succeed through the final month of school.

Leave a Reply

