Foolproof Proofreading Tips

I really liked this article by Shane Arthur. I learned a lot and it really made sense the way he phrased stuff.

“Proofreading is vitally important, hard to do well, and tedious as hell.” -Brian Clark. This quote wonderfully sums up how I feel about proofreading!

While reading this article I read three tips that I find extremely useful and that will also benefit me as I start working on cover letters 😀

  1. Proofreading is tedious, but so is exercise. He’s right proofreading takes forever but, if done right, you will ultimately be rewarded in the end.
  2. Write…run away…then read. I love this and it is so true. The more you focus on a paper the more discouraged you will get. It’s good to always take a break and focus on another project. That way you can come back to your paper with a fresh mind.
  3. Avoid the Passive Voice. I’m really starting to understand why it is so important that we use active voice when writing. You want to write with authority and this can only be achieved by using active voice.
Leave a Reply

