Don’t be afraid of proofreading anymore!

Shane Author’s “14 Foolproof Proofreading Tips for Bloggers” was an interesting and helpful article for me. The note at the beginning about how there were 25 misspelled words definitely kept me on my toes when first reading the article…until I found out there was none at all. I kept thinking I saw mistakes and I was reading the article differently than I normally would. This was an inventive and creative way to introduce the first tip. Out of all the tips though, three stood out to help me personally.

#6: Write…run away…then read

This is one that will really help me with the little mistake I make while blogging. I always notice more mistakes after I have made the post then before. Giving myself time to step away from what I have just written by getting on Facebook or checking email and then coming back to the post will give my mind a short break to be able to come back and do a better job of proofreading.

#7: Read slower

I have always read to fast with everything and sometimes I don’t even know I am doing it until after the fact. Reading slower while proofreading will help me catch more mistakes sooner. This goes along with the trick he did earlier with the 25 misspelled words. I was reading very slow at first to see if I could find the mistakes. If I take this mindset with me through reading my posts as well as taking my time, I will become a better proofreader.

#9: Have someone else read your post

This is a great idea and something I would have never thought of before reading this post. Having new eyes look at your post, they will find the silly mistakes you made even if you have read over it three times. This will also help with how others will perceive your post when reading it.

There is one tip I would also like to mention as being helpful in general.

#10: Avoid the Passive Voice

This is something I know I do sometimes thinking my sentence is better that way. Author has a good tip of using a word processor to see if you have certain words in your post to check yourself on using the passive voice. Author says the active voice makes your writing sound more authoritative to your readers. I had never thought of it that way before and what voice you use affects your readers differently.

Leave a Reply

